Dear A,

Thank you for your reply looks like things are looking up for you Not so for South Africa who looks like they now have no chance of progressing into the second round. What a pity. Not that I am much of a football fan but there is something inspirational about having a team progress forward in a competition when the competition is held on their homeland. Speaking of inspirational I am a bit slow on the uptake but are you going to watch ‘Blind side’? I heard it’s a pretty good movie, anything that makes you feel good (in a very wholesome non erotic way) should be endorsed. Weekend is here and I’m feeling slightly more uplifted then usual. I am still in the slumps but it doesn’t look any gloomier here then it was last week and that should be enough a reason to be happier.

Whoo.pee.do

Forgive me for my rare show of awkwardness. It’s been good to see that your still struggling on with finding a place for yourself in this world. Allow me to be condescending and say that I have read somewhere of a person who thought that only when one devotes himself to their God would he be able to finally hear the click, the epiphany, the reason to their existence in this world. It is not for us to be comfortable or to be successful but to treat this life that we have now as a stop before we move on from our flesh and live for all eternity serving God in our spirit form. I haven’t tried it yet and thought maybe you would be so inclined and then I could ask how your journey was. Do I sound skeptical? I think one is rarely disappointed when one first opens ones eyes, query the distance to the bottom of  from where one is to jump off from, calculate the risk and then proceed not to jump and climb down to safety. Before you open your mouth to object ( as I know you will since you ALWAYS call me a pessimist) I did take the plunge as one would normally say however, I went down slowly instead of doing it like an imbecile spiraling downward with no control into the dark abyss of the unknown.

Speaking of which, Babette’s Feast is sublime. A short story that plays with your mind, big words that even I had to think for a moment or two before I realised what it meant. I wish to be an attendant to such a feast. Not like a fly on the wall silently witnessing the unfolding of events (or in this case the opening of each tray to some heavenly, mouth watering experience) but an actual invitee to a party. I would be forced to dress according to the theme and whim of the host or hostesses (how I dread having to go to a dinner party where the host is a female, they always can’t seem to shut their mouth and drone on and on and on about things which I know not of or care to know). To be part of a feast that is prepared like a work of art, priceless, unattainable, decadent and so very, very wasteful. Had I the money and the connections I would have searched the world until I found my own version of Babette’s feast.

Have you read it? You should, I won’t borrow you my copy so don’t bother to ask. I’m serious. Come back to me when you have read it and tell me what you loved about it.

I can’t get this song out of my head, I catch myself humming to it while I’m writing.

Starry, starry night.
Paint your palette blue and grey,
Look out on a summer’s day,
With eyes that know the darkness in my soul.
Shadows on the hills,
Sketch the trees and the daffodils,
Catch the breeze and the winter chills,
In colors on the snowy linen land.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

