Bruno Mars in New Zealand- April 2011

Think Motown, Dream Girls, Elvis Presley and James Brown and what you get is Bruno Mars performing for the first time in New Zealand for his ‘Doo-Wops & Hooligans’ Concert.

I went to see Bruno Mars last night and he was fantastic. What an entertainer! I was seduced by his amazing voice, fantastic guitar skills and he and his band are such entertainers and were a joy to watch. The sets were incredible, energetic, passionate and brimming with talent. He and his band worked the whole stage. There were no long breaks in between sets. After an energetic set, he would take a small breather and then launched effortlessly into another number 1 hit song.

I feel like dancing the night away.
Feels like just yesterday we danced for the first time, for the first time, remember our first time, time, time, time, time,
-excerpt from Bruno Mars song ‘The First Time’.

They also had a short jam session where they played a remix of “Smells like Teen Spirit” from Nirvana and “Billie Jean” from Michael Jackson and the crowd loved it. The crowd lapped everything that Bruno and his band had to give with relish. The musical director is a genius and it showed. I was entranced right from the beginning till the very end of the show. My only gripe is that his show was too short and wished it could have been longer. I also would not have mind to see him play on the piano as he performed the whole show on his electric guitar.

You can count on me like one, two, three
I’ll be there and I know when I need it
I can count on you like four, three, two
And you’ll be there ’cause that’s what friends
Are supposed to do
-excerpt from Bruno Mars song ‘Count on me’.

He attracted a lot of young teenage girls and I know this because the moment the lights dimmed and Bruno came on stage all of them (and I am sure the residents of Auckland City heard them too) exploded in shrill screams, proclamations of love and undying devotion. I would have been more amused were it not for the fact that my ear drums had exploded from the experience. When the furor died down I could hear a ringing in my ear that I couldn’t shake off.

Beautiful girls all over the world, I could be chasing
But my time would be wasted, they got nothing on you, baby
Nothing on you, baby
-excerpt from Bruno Mars song ‘Beautiful Girl’.

Funny experience:

A short pudgy man with his girlfriend were seated beside Bronson. I think he was from the Philippines. Every time Bruno picked up the pace and the crowd was going wild this guy would shout and whoop “Yes! Oh yes! Oh, my god! This is fantastic! Yes, Bruno. Yes!” So excited was he that I wouldn’t be surprised if he came in his pants.

Bruno Mars ‘Doo-Wops & the Hooligans’ concert was that good. He rocked the stadium and I would definitely go to another one of his concerts were he to come back to New Zealand.

I’d catch a grenade for ya
Throw my hand on a blade for ya
I’d jump in front of a train for ya
You know I’d do anything for ya
(yeah, yeah, yeah)
– excerpt from Bruno Mars song ‘Grenade’

What a performance.

Xoxo
A

Leave a comment

Filed under Auckland, Got a lot of soul, Life, Movies/Work/Music, MsAudreyC, Party Pooper?

Leave a Reply

