Please call me Li Yang NOT Ivy.

I have a very good friend who reads very depressing novels. She loves dark, macabre, painful stories, autobiographies and novels. She reads about people who live their life travelling the globe, writing award winning novels and then commit suicide. She reads about little boys experiencing traumatic assaults where no happy endings are in sight, lonely woman finding answers to their questions and never finding them. You would think after reading this type of literature, she, herself would be a very depressing person, right?

The answer is no, what she has become is a philosophical person, a person full of humorous quips, there is always a silver lining to a dark cloud kind of person. Her birthday has just passed and being the terrible friend that I am I didn’t manage to write an ode to her in time.

I would like to take the time now to say happy birthday Li Yang. You are essentially to me a yogi in corporate clothing. I don’t know when it happened, but you have such a zen-like aura now (except when you get a health scare and then you just turn into a paranoid freak). I find that you are a child of the world and have a beautiful soul too. I hope to be able to be like you (but the better version -_-) and grow old with you.

Know that even if we were to lose contact as the years pass by, even if we grow apart, know that you have a piece of my soul.

You are my dearest friend.

“True friendship is a plant of slow growth, and must undergo and withstand the shocks of adversity before it is entitled to the appellation.”
George Washington (1732 – 1799) US Statesman

Love,

Audrey

Leave a comment

Filed under Auckland, Got a lot of soul, Li Yang <3, MsAudreyC

Leave a Reply

