Raise my hands up in peace

To my country and country men, Happy Independence day. To all my muslim friends and family, Selamat Hari Raya. To those who are working hard for a better Malaysia, keep up the good fight.

I wrote this a few months back but never really had the opportunity to record it. I rushed to get this out today hence the bad editing and very tired face. Peace and love to everyone.

Waking up with the sunlight in my eyes

For a moment I forget where I am

Then it hit me that today, is the day that I’ve been waiting

Heart starts pounding, palms are sweating

 

Fearful and excited I get ready

12pmdon’t be late I remember that they said

As I rush for the bus that I almost missed that day

But don’t you worry, I made it in time

 

Touching my yellow shirt, I can feel the stares

Daring move I know, I gotta watch my back

But I don’t care because today is the day for me to be heard

 

All I want to do is raise my hands up in peace

Hey, I’m not asking much but can you please

Let me stand here with my brothers as we’re marching down the streets

For fairness and equality

 

It starts with one and then the number grows

Soon it’s tens, hundreds and a thousand more

With one love their hoping that it’s felt

With one cause their hoping that it’s heard

They try, I try

 

In reply do the soldiers arrive

Preparing for the worst they do

With bullets in their guns and the tanks park nearby

Against those empty handed marching fools

 

All I want to do is raise my hands up in peace

Hey, I’m not asking much but can you please

Let me stand here with my brothers as we’re marching down the streets

For fairness and equality

 

**

They label us criminals, gangsters and rebellious

I got an old lady by my side and a three year old holding on to me

Side by side we walk these streets, geared up in our yellow t-shirt

Hoping to make a change, knowing that it might never come

 

In reply they hose us down to the ground, water splashing all around

I try to get up but they push me back down to my knees

Shock and pain shoots up my system. I can see myself losing my vision, it’s the end

My life is flashing by, like this country’s corrupted system

 

Then I ask myself why oh why, why are they doing this?

When all I want to do is walk peacefully and have the chance

To vote for my own leader and liberty

 

I know the fruits of labour from this day

I’ll never see in this lifetime but hey, it’s ok

Cause my child and your child will

That’s why I’m raising my hands high singing

 

All I want to do is raise my hands up in peace

Hey, I’m not asking much but can you please

Let me stand here with my brothers as we’re marching down the streets

For fairness and equality

 

2 Comments

Filed under Auckland, Got a lot of soul, Land below the wind, Life, Love, Movies/Work/Music, MsAudreyC

2 responses to “Raise my hands up in peace

  1. Heyhey, this is awesome!😀 Someone like you need to come back home.

  2. I am jealous that you can sing and play guitar. But what i feel envy the most is that you can do a song like this and you tube it and your family and friends back home will see this. For me,no talent at sinning, no access to you tube back home. If I can sing and make one video like this, I ll worried for my family being hassled back home.

Leave a Reply

