N is for Nap time

 

A few weeks ago we were too busy and the twins skipped their naps and had gone to bed by 6.30pm. Blog post on that beautiful event; Skipping Naps For An Early Night With Twins. Now, this is amazing because they are usually in bed by 8.30pm – 9.30pm sometimes even as late as 10.30pm depending on how long their nap was in the afternoon. So, they skipped their nap that day and went to bed early and woke up around 6.30am – 7am. Can you hear it? Can you hear the singing chorus of angels in the background? So epic, I wept with gratitude for this wonderful unexpected moment.

giphy.gif

That was two weeks ago and here is an update on where we are so far. So, we have been trying to skip the naps and grandma is under strict instructions to not let them nap any later then 1.30pm. We have had a few hits and misses and I have learned a few things on the way which are;

  1. When putting toddlers to sleep do not surf on the phone while singing nursery rhymes. It does not work.
  2. When putting toddlers to sleep, lying down in between them and surfing on the phone expecting them to go sleep , it does not work.
  3. When putting toddlers to sleep and you are co-sleeping, do not fall asleep in an exhaustive heap while tapping them to sleep as you will end up waking up disoriented and in pain because they were playing ‘jumping monkeys’ and used you as a base.
  4. When putting toddlers to sleep do not let them use the Ipad in bed thinking “they must be very tired they will fall asleep in minutes”. WRONG! It does not work.11958075_10153786504126913_970608021177273508_o

The only thing that worked (if they haven’t fallen asleep as soon as their heads touches the pillow) is to switch off all the lights, lie in bed with them and sing “1,2,3,4,5…once I caught a fish alive. 6,7,8,9,10 then I let it go again…why did I let it go? Because it bit my finger so. Which finger did it bite? This little finger on my riiiigggghhhtttt” repeat times infinity. As I sing them to sleep I can feel myself slipping too and I try to claw myself out of that sucking black hole called sleep (because I still have so many things to do, like have a life).  I fail and succumb only to wake up 6 hours later in the wee morning wanting to pee and the baby is crying.

IMG_20160207_165239.jpg

Till Then.

***Just a quick recap, I joined a blog challenge called A to Z challenge where we write a post a day based on the alphabet.

My other posts for the challenge;

A is for Arianna

B is for Bronson

C is for Cynthia

D is for Doreen

E is for Empathy

F is for Fat

G is for Garden

H is for Hayao Miyazaki

I is for Idols

J is for Juice

K is for Kelly Tarlton’s

L is for Li Yang Ma

M is for Mikaela

11 Comments

Filed under A to Z Challenge, Arianna, AtoZChallenge, BabyM, Chintwins, Gabriel, MsAudreyC