An Adventure A Day

As part of our one week birthday celebration for the twins we went to the Zoo last week. It was an expensive venture but the twins (especially Gaby boy) made the trip worthwhile. He was the navigator and navigated us through the zoo with his trusty map.

It was a good day to go the zoo as it was on one of the rare weekends in winter where the sun would be out and no rain to spoil the day. It was a bit nippy but nothing like a warm jumper and a lot of running, screaming and expressions of joy couldn’t fix. We brought the stroller along but Miki was not having any of that, so we carried the baby pushed the stroller (which handled our gazillion bags of important stuff) while the children screamed their way into the zoo wanting to see EVERYTHING.

That was my fourth time there in the years that I have been in Auckland and it was the best one yet. All the animals were out that there due to the cold weather and the appearance of the sun. The elusive Tigers and Cheetahs were lounging out in the open trying to soak up as much of the sun’s rays to stay warm. The children were interested but the adults were definitely more into it knowing how rare it was to see them about.

After three hours of walking the stroller came in handy when the children became tired and grumpy. We tried lifting their spirits again with ice cream but half an hour later it was clear to all that it was time to go home. Amidst cries of protest at the entrance we promised to bring them to the zoo again. This time with inah and grandpa when they come visit from my hometown. I hope the animals come out to play on our next visit, please.

img-20160608-wa0015.jpg

img-20160608-wa0009.jpg

img-20160608-wa0006.jpg

When I had kids I told myself that we would be the type of family that would be out and about as much as possible. Walks in the parks, beach, lakes and everything in between. My mother inspired me to be active with my kids. She would work long hours but when the holidays hit we would be preparing for some grand adventure that she had meticulously planned. That’s why regardless of how tired I was when the weekend hit I would be raring to go out and about. I get into a pretty foul mood when we are cooped indoors. I want my children to do things that I did, travel the country in a car with the family, have fun with things that does not include an ipad, mobile phone or television. To experience this majestic world of ours and know that we are but a speck of sand in the universe. But as little as we are, our existence matters, their life matters, there is a reason for everything and to just have an adventure a day and live.

 

Till Then

2 Comments

Filed under Animal Love!, MsAudreyC

2 responses to “An Adventure A Day

  1. you are an amazing mum my dear friend

Leave a Reply

